Skip to content
PC Insurance

Why should I have auto insurance?

If you own a vehicle, by law in Canada, you must have the mandatory coverage such as liability, accident benefits, direct compensation-property damage and uninsured motorist. You should also have adequate optional collision and upset coverage and comprehensive coverage to protect your property in case of loss.

  • Liability - covers you for things like legal fees and the cost of settling the claims, up to the limit indicated on your certificate.

  • Accident benefits - may provide benefits for medical costs, including rehabilitation, attendant care and more, disability income to cover lost wages, funeral expenses and death benefits for you, your spouse or dependants.

  • Direct compensation - property damage (Ontario only)- may cover the cost to repair or replace your vehicle and any property inside it, and may provide you with a rental car, if you're in an accident that isn't your fault or is partly your fault.

  • Uninsured motorist - may cover you and any other passengers in your vehicle for injuries. It may also cover damage to your vehicle by a driver who doesn't have insurance, or a hit-and-run driver. In Ontario, you can only make a claim under this coverage if the other vehicle and/or driver can be identified. (If the driver or vehicle can't be identified, this coverage doesn't apply but there still may be benefits for injuries and/or collision under other parts of your policy.)

Related Questions

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact us for more help

Aller au contenu

Pourquoi devrais-je me procurer une assurance auto?

Tous les propriétaires de véhicule automobile au Canada se doivent d’être assurés pour la responsabilité civile, les accidents, les dommages matériels, et les blessures aux passagers. À cela s’ajoutent des garanties facultatives pour protéger la valeur de votre véhicule en cas de collision, de renversement, ou d’autres incidents fâcheux.

  • Responsabilité – se charge de couvrir une partie ou la totalité des frais judiciaires ou autres reliés à une demande d’indemnisation.

  • Assurance de personnes – peut couvrir vos frais médicaux (y compris la réadaptation fonctionnelle et les soins auxiliaires), votre revenu en cas d’invalidité, ou vos frais funéraires et une prestation pour votre famille si vous décédez.

  • Indemnisation directe en cas de dommages matériels (Ontario seulement) – couvre les frais de réparation ou de remplacement du véhicule et des objets transportés qui sont endommagés lors d’un accident dont vous n’êtes pas tenu responsable (ou seulement partiellement responsable).

  • Automobiliste non assuré – protection pour vous et vos passagers en cas de blessure. Cette protection peut aussi s’appliquer si votre véhicule est endommagé par un automobiliste qui n’est pas assuré ou lors d’un délit de fuite. Pour profiter de cette protection en Ontario, on doit pouvoir identifier l’automobiliste ou le véhicule responsable. Sinon, vous devrez vous rabattre sur d’autres protections (comme celle sur les accidents ou l’assurance facultative en cas de collision) pour obtenir une compensation.

Questions connexes

Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

Contactez-nous pour plus d'aide