PC points Security

We recognize security as critically important to our customers. When you connect with the President's Choice Financial® secure PC points area, your browser is validated to ensure that it meets our minimum security requirements. The two most common levels of encryption are 40-bit and 128-bit and they have both been implemented commercially on popular browsers like Netscape Navigator and Microsoft Internet Explorer. The encryption we use during on-line sessions to transmit your financial data is based on a highest level of security currently available in North America, to prevent the risk of the information being intercepted and read by a third party.

Currently, to access the President's Choice Financial secure PC points area, you need: a Netscape browser version 6.2 or better with a minimum 40-bit (128-bit recommended) encryption technology a Microsoft browser version 5.5 or better with a minimum 40-bit (128-bit recommended) encryption technology.

You should be aware of the potential compatibility and security issues regarding certain Netscape and Microsoft browsers. Both Netscape and Microsoft often update their browsers to fix identified problems. We recommend that you stay current with security information concerning these browsers by visiting the Netscape or Microsoft security sites. If you are uncertain about the security of any websites you have visited we recommend you close your browser and restart it before visiting the President's Choice Financial secure PC points area. In order to maintain proper online security, your computer system must meet these minimum standards:

  • Netscape browser version 6.2 or better with a minimum 40-bit (128-bit recommended) encryption technology
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer browser version 5.5 or better with a minimum 40-bit (128-bit recommended) encryption technology

We strongly recommend that you use 128-bit encryption. To download the most recent version of Netscape or Microsoft Internet Explorer please select a link below.

Netscape Navigator
Internet Explorer

Netscape Navigator is a trademark of Netscape Communications Corporation and Microsoft Internet Explorer is a trademark of Microsoft Corporation.

  • Authentication and Encryption

    SSL server authentication allows you to confirm a web server's identity. Your browser can automatically check that a server's certificate and public ID are valid and have been issued by a certificate authority (CA), such as VeriSign. Authentication is vital for secure e-commerce transactions in which you are sending private and confidential information over the web and first want to verify the receiving server's identity.

    An encrypted SSL connection requires all information sent between a client (your computer) and a server to be encrypted by the sender and decrypted by the receiver. This protects private information from being intercepted over the Internet. In addition, all data sent over an encrypted SSL connection is protected with a mechanism for detecting tampering - that is, for automatically determining whether the data has been altered in transit. This means that you can confidently send private data, such as your account info, to us via our website trusting that SSL keeps it private and confidential.

    We use Extended Validation (EV) SSL, the highest standard in the Internet security industry for Web site authentication, to secure your online transaction with us. EV SSL signifies that our organization has passed a rigorous identity authentication process. The EV SSL Certificate triggers your browser address to display https:// and if you use a browser released in 2007 or later (such as Microsoft Internet Explorer 7) your address bar will turn a noticeable green color.

Speedbump

We're cooking up something great!

As you explore our website, you’ll notice some pages look a little different than others. That’s because we’re in the process of redesigning our entire site.

All the information you need is still available. Watch out for more exciting changes coming soon!

Continue

Nous vous concoctons un petit quelque chose!

Lorsque vous naviguez sur notre site, vous remarquerez que l’apparence des pages varie parfois. Cela est dû à la cure de rajeunissement que subit présentement tout notre site Web.

Tous les renseignements dont vous avez besoin s’y trouvent toujours. D’autres changements excitants suivront bientôt!

Continuer

Sécurité avec les points PC

Nous reconnaissons que la sécurité est primordiale pour nos clients. Lorsque vous vous connectez à la zone sécurisée des points PC des Services financiers le Choix du Président, votre navigateur est validé afin de garantir qu'il répond à nos normes de sécurité minimales. Les systèmes de chiffrement à 40 bits et 128 bits sont les plus répandus et ont été intégrés à des navigateurs qui se vendent beaucoup dans le commerce, comme Microsoft Internet Explorer et Netscape Navigator. La technologie de chiffrement que nous utilisons pour transmettre vos données financières durant les sessions en ligne procure l'un des niveaux de sécurité les plus élevés qui soient offerts aujourd'hui en Amérique du Nord, afin d'éliminer le risque que l'information soit interceptée et lue par un tiers.

À l'heure actuelle, pour accéder à la zone sécurisée des points PC des Services financiers le Choix du Président, vous devez avoir un navigateur Netscape 6.2 ou d'une version supérieure utilisant une technologie de chiffrement d'au moins 40 bits (on recommande 128 bits) ou un navigateur Microsoft 5.5 ou d'une version supérieure utilisant une technologie de chiffrement d'au moins 40 bits (on recommande 128 bits).

Vous devriez être conscient des problèmes de compatibilité et de sécurité qui pourraient toucher certains navigateurs Netscape et Microsoft. Ces deux sociétés modifient souvent leurs navigateurs pour régler des problèmes qui ont été détectés. Nous vous recommandons de vous tenir au courant de l'évolution de la sécurité de ces navigateurs en consultant les sites pertinents de Netscape ou de Microsoft. Si vous voulez accéder à la zone sécurisée pour les points PC après avoir navigué quelque temps mais que vous n'êtes pas certain du niveau de sécurité des sites que vous avez visités, nous vous suggérons de fermer et de repartir votre navigateur, puis d'aller directement à notre site. À l'heure actuelle, pour accéder à la zone sécurisée des points PC des Services financiers le Choix du Président, vous devez utiliser :

  • Netscape 6.2 ou d'une version supérieure utilisant une technologie de chiffrement d'au moins 40 bits (on recommande 128 bits)
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5 ou d'une version supérieure utilisant une technologie de chiffrement d'au moins 40 bits (on recommande 128 bits).

Netscape Navigator
Internet Explorer

Microsoft Internet Explorer est une marque de commerce de Microsoft Corporation et Netscape Navigator est une marque de commerce de Netscape Communications Corporation.

  • Certification et le chiffrement

    La norme de certification SSL permet de confirmer l'identité d'un serveur web. Le certificat et le numéro d'identification public d'un serveur sécuritaire sont contrôlés automatiquement par votre navigateur pour s'assurer qu'ils proviennent d'un organisme reconnu comme VeriSign. Le processus de certification joue donc un rôle essentiel dans la transmission de données confidentielles, notamment le commerce électronique, puisqu'il permet de vérifier l'identité du serveur qui recevra les données avant de les transmettre.

    Une fois qu'une connexion SSL est établie, toutes les données provenant de votre ordinateur sont d'abord chiffrées, puis elles sont déchiffrées lorsque le serveur les reçoit. Ce système empêche donc que vos données confidentielles soient interceptées par quelqu'un. En effet, le système SSL détecte automatiquement s'il y a eu tentative d'altération des données lors de la transmission. La norme SSL vous permet donc d'utiliser notre site web pour nous transmettre des renseignements personnels, notamment des renseignements sur votre compte, en toute sécurité et en toute confiance.

    Afin d'assurer que la transmission de tels renseignements reste confidentielle, nous avons adopté la norme de chiffrement la plus sécuritaire qui existe présentement, soit la norme EV SSL. Cela signifie que notre système de vérification de l'identité correspond bien à ces normes très strictes. Vous pouvez savoir si un site web que vous visitez est certifié EV SSL en vérifiant la barre d'adresse : l'adresse commencera par « https:// », et si la version de votre navigateur existe depuis au moins 2007(Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 en est un exemple), votre barre d'adresse sera verte.

Speedbump

We're cooking up something great!

As you explore our website, you’ll notice some pages look a little different than others. That’s because we’re in the process of redesigning our entire site.

All the information you need is still available. Watch out for more exciting changes coming soon!

Continue

Nous vous concoctons un petit quelque chose!

Lorsque vous naviguez sur notre site, vous remarquerez que l’apparence des pages varie parfois. Cela est dû à la cure de rajeunissement que subit présentement tout notre site Web.

Tous les renseignements dont vous avez besoin s’y trouvent toujours. D’autres changements excitants suivront bientôt!

Continuer